Worshipping at home

The resources listed here will help you to worship at home if you aren't able to get to church.

Most links are to external websites and open in a new tab.


Services and prayers for use at home

Worship during the coronavirus pandemic
The official Methodist Church listing includes: service sheets for use at home; links to live-streamed services; prayers for the bereaved, and for when you can't get to a funeral; and resources for personal prayer and Bible study.

Prayer resources from the Church of England


Take Five

The Revd Chris Morley, a retired Methodist minister in our circuit, publishes a daily video Take Five. Each short daily thought is a suggestion for how we might grow spiritually and come closer to God by reflecting that day on a particular theme. Chris writes: 'I'm inviting people to Take Five minutes each day to join me. I hope if you do, you will find it a contribution to the deepening of your faith during these strange days.'


Daily Hope logoDaily Hope – free 24-hour phone line

This national phone line brings worship and prayer into people’s homes while church buildings are closed.

It was set up particularly for those who are unable to join online church services. Callers can choose from a range of options including hymns, prayers and reflections, as well as full worship services from the Church of England.


Dial-a-Prayer

The Methodist Church's free phone service of prayers and news:

Listen to a prayer: 0808 281 2514
Methodist Podcast: 0808 281 2478
Pastoral message from the President and Vice-President: 0808 281 2695


Some live-streamed and video services

Trinity Church, Sutton
Trinity's Sunday services are live-streamed at 10.00 am each Sunday, and are available subsequently.

Epsom Methodist Church
Online Sunday services are available on Epsom's YouTube channel.

Church online
Weekly online services from the Church of England, streamed each Sunday at 9.00 am. This page also lists a range of other resources.


Some hymns written in response to the emergency

A prayer in time of crisis – Tony Law

This sudden Sabbath gives us pause – Andrew Pratt

The care of all we seek or see – Andrew Pratt

When life is shaken to its core - Andrew Brown


Rosemary and Philip's blog

During the first lockdown, Rosemary and Philip Richter wrote a weekly blog to enable us to share a meditation.


Our video services

During the third lockdown our preachers provided a short video service each week.

Good Friday - 2 April 2021

Maundy Thursday - 1 April 2021

Sunday 28 March 2021

Sunday 21 March 2021

Sunday 14 March 2021

Sunday 7 March 2021

Sunday 28 February 2021

Sunday 21 February 2021

Sunday 14 February 2021

Sunday 7 February 2021

Sunday 31 January 2021

Sunday 24 January 2021

Sunday 17 January 2021

Sunday 10 January 2021

Sunday 3 January 2021


Page last updated: 24th September 2021 10:56 AM